Oscars 2016: Winners List


The “Spotlight” is on Oscar.

The story of crusading Boston Globe reporters uncovering child abuse in the Catholic church captured Best Picture at the Academy Awards on Sunday night.

Five-time nominee Leonardo DiCaprio finally walked off an Oscar, winning for Best Actor for “The Revenant,” while Brie Larson won Best Actress for “Room.”

Mark Rylance of “Bridge of Spies” scored an upset win over Sylvester Stallone for Best Supporting Actor while Alicia Vikander won Best Supporting Actress for “The Danish Girl” and Alejandro González Iñárritu was named Best Director for “The Revenant.”

The screenwriters of “The Big Short” and “Spotlight” took trophies and “Mad Max: Fury Road” dominated the technical categories.

Here are the winners:

Best picture: “Spotlight”

Best actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”

Best actress: Brie Larson, “Room”

Director: Alejandro González Iñárritu, “The Revenant”

Original song: “Writing’s On the Wall,” Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith from “Spectre”

Original score: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

Foreign-language film: “Son of Saul” (Hungary)

Live-action short: “Stutterer”

Documentary feature: “Amy”

Documentary short: “A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness”

Best supporting actor: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

Animated feature: “Inside Out”

Animated short: “Bear Story”

Visual effects: “Ex Machina” — Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Sound mixing: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, Ben Osmo

Sound editing: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Mark Mangini, David White

Film editing: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Margaret Sixel

Cinematography: “The Revenant” – Emmanuel Lubezki

Makeup and hairstyling: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, Damian Martin

Production design: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Colin Gibson, Lisa Thompson

Costume design: “Mad Max: Fury Road” – Jenny Beavan,

Best supporting actress: Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”

Best adapted screenplay: “The Big Short” – Charles Randolph, Adam McKay

Best Original screenplay: “Spotlight” – Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy